ECTSS Statement

Members of The Eastern Cardiothoracic Surgical Society Standards and Ethics committee are committed to upholding the highest standards in clinical and scientific practice. The members will uphold the core principles of honesty, patient autonomy, beneficence, non-maleficence, and justice. Members shall represent themselves under these guiding principles during clinical duties, scientific endeavors, and in the public forum. The committee on Standards and Ethics put utmost value in truthfulness and honesty. The committee will lead by example in guiding the ethical and clinical decision making in the ever evolving modern day practice of Cardiothoracic surgery.


ECTSS Standards and Ethics Committee Members:
Huzaifa Shakir, MD, FACS
Antony Dellituri, MD
Jeffrey Javidfar, MD
Roman Petrov, MD
Louis H. Stein, MD, PhD
Kelly M. Wanamaker, MD
ECTSS Executive Officers:
Sharon Ben-Or, MD
ECTSS President

Doraid Jarrar, MD
ECTSS Vice President

Africa Wallace, MD
ECTSS Treasurer

Spencer Melby, MD
ECTSS Secretary

Eastern Cardiothoracic Surgical Society

The ECTSS was founded in 1963 and was originally named the Pennsylvania Association for Thoracic Surgery.

Read more