Scholarships   Awards

David B. Campbell and Fred Weber became involved in the society when it was still known as the Pennsylvania Association of Thoracic Surgeons. Dr. Campbell served as president in 1995 and Dr. Weber served in 2011. Both of them have proven to be leaders in cardiothoracic surgery, with a legacy of fostering residents and medical students, who in turn have become actively involved in the ECTSS and today’s leaders in the field. In 2016, the ECTSS established two named scholarships for residents and medical students to allow recipients to attend the annual meeting and have a mentor who can help them navigate becoming a cardiothoracic surgeon. Each scholarship covers travel, registration and hotel expenses for attendance to the ECTSS Annual Meeting.

The ECTSS has created a fund to help support and grow this scholarship program. Your tax deductible donation will help the future of our society and our field in medicine. We would greatly appreciate your support and thank you for your consideration!


David Campbell Scholarship for Residents
Eric W. Etchill, MD
The Johns Hopkins Hospital
Alejandro Suarez-Pierre, MD
The Johns Hopkins Hospital
Kanika Kalra, MD
Emory University
Rami E. Michael, MD
Greenville Memorial Hospital
Fred Weber Scholarship for Medical Students
Katherine Phillips
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Edgar Aranda-Michel
University of Pittsburgh
Megan L. Schultz
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Corbin Earl Muetterties, BS
Temple University School of Medicine

The 2019 submission deadline has passed. Applications for 2020 will be available at the beginning of the year for the following scholarships.

Application materials:

Thank you for your interest!